Item 4.3

Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee - Policies and Procedures, Membership and Appointment of Chairperson

File No: S062388

Memorandum by the Chief Executive Officer

To Council:

The Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee is a statutory committee, established under the Roads Act 1993 and in accordance with administrative procedures required by Transport for NSW (formerly Roads and Maritime Services).

Councils have been delegated certain powers by Transport for NSW regarding the regulation of traffic on local roads. A condition of this delegation is that councils must take into account the advice of their Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee before exercising these powers.

The Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee has no decision-making powers. It is primarily a technical review body which is required to advise Council and City staff on traffic-related matters. Council and City staff are therefore not bound or required to implement a proposal supported by the Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee. Any proposal supported by the Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee must be approved by either the elected Council or authorised City staff (depending on the nature of the proposal) if it is to be implemented. This can only be done when the advice of the Committee is unanimous. Where the advice of the Committee is not unanimous, Council must separately notify and obtain the endorsement of Transport for NSW and NSW Police.

The Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee is made up of four formal (voting) members as follows:

- one representative of Council (Chairperson or alternate Chairperson);
- one representative of NSW Police;
- one representative of Transport for NSW;
- the local State Member of Parliament (MP) or their nominee;
- one representative of a relevant NSW Government agency (where applicable)*.

Representatives of NSW Police and State MPs can only vote on matters in their respective command or electorate.

*The NSW Government agencies are formal (voting) members for matters relating to roads over which they have jurisdiction only (for example, Property NSW / Place Management NSW / Infrastructure NSW). The City of Sydney Council is not a formal (voting) member for these matters. The Chairperson and alternate Chairperson are to be determined by Council, and Council's representative may be any Councillor or City staff. Council (in consultation with the formal members of the Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee) may also decide to have additional informal (non-voting) representatives who can provide non-binding input on matters under consideration. Informal (non-voting) members of the Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee are as follows:

- Transit Systems representative;
- Transport Workers Union representative;
- Cycling Representative appointed by the Lord Mayor;
- Pedestrian Representative appointed by Council; and
- Local Health District Representative appointed by Council.

City staff convene meetings and provide administrative support for the Committee, including the preparation of agendas, reports and minutes, and formally represent Council when both the Chairperson and the alternate Chairperson are absent.

At the Council meeting of 21 September 2020, Councillor Philip Thalis and Councillor Linda Scott were appointed Chairperson and alternate Chairperson of the Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee respectively for a term of office ending on the day appointed for the next ordinary election of Council, subsequently held on Saturday, 4 December 2021.

In order to ensure there was capacity to deal with any urgent matters requiring the consideration of the Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee during the post-election period, at the Council meeting of 15 November 2021, the Chief Executive Officer was appointed as interim Chairperson of the Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee for the period 4 December 2021 to the day of the post-election extraordinary meeting of Council.

As a further interim measure, at the extraordinary Council meeting of 23 December 2021, the Lord Mayor - Councillor Clover Moore was appointed as interim Chairperson of the Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee for the period 23 December 2021 until a Councillor Chairperson and alternate Chairperson are appointed.

Recommendation

It is resolved that:

- (A) the Policies and Procedures of the Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee, as contained in Attachment A to the subject Memorandum, be endorsed and adopted;
- (B) the informal (non-voting) representatives to the Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee, as outlined in the subject Memorandum, be endorsed;
- (C) Council appoint Councillor as the Chairperson of the Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee for a term commencing immediately and ending on 30 September 2022; and
- (D) Council appoint Councillor as the alternate Chairperson of the Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee, for a term commencing immediately and ending on 30 September 2022.

MONICA BARONE

Chief Executive Officer

Attachments

Attachment A. Policies and Procedures of the Local Pedestrian, Cycling and Traffic Calming Committee